R-7 high school sophomores selected to attend Missouri Scholars Academy

Several Lee’s Summit R-7 School District sophomores were selected to attend the Missouri Scholars Academy, a three-week summer academic program for approximately 330 of Missouri’s gifted students.

from LS R-7 Schools

Students selected to attend this Academy are Emma Cooney, Alexandria Mesz and Sierra Nyquist, Lee’s Summit High School; Megan Carlson and Kameron Robinson, Lee’s Summit North High School; and Hannah Neo, Allison Salamone and Molly Wooster, Lee’s Summit West High School.

Close to 330 sophomores statewide are selected from among approximately 65,000 students. Acceptance is based on a student essay, teacher recommendations, PSAT scores and IQ tests.

The academy is a residential program held on the University of Missouri-Columbia and funded by the State of Missouri.

The Academy features carefully selected faculty and staff, a specially designed curriculum that focuses on the liberal arts and a variety of stimulating extracurricular activities. Academy students are able to become part of a unique learning community.