LS R-7 students named National Merit commended students

Ten Lee’s Summit R-7 School District seniors were recently named National Merit Scholarship Corporation commended students through the national program. Students recognized are Haylee Hudson and Andrew Mitchell, Lee’s Summit High School; Anna Bilton, Lee’s Summit North High School; and Taylor Clewell, Chad Fischer, Katarina Liddell, Mikayla Odell, Kimlan Phan, Samuel Stott and Caroline Williams, Lee’s Summit West High School.

from LS R-7 Schools

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation conducts the program for academically talented seniors. About 34,000 commended students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2018 competition for Merit Scholarship awards, commended students placed among the top 5 percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the competition by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Founded in 1955 to conduct the annual Merit Scholarship competition, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation is a privately financed, not-for-profit corporation that operates without government assistance. The organization announced its semifinalists earlier this fall, and commended students were just recently named.