LS R-7 students capture regional Aspirations in Computing Awards

Several Lee’s Summit R-7 students were selected by the Western Missouri and Kansas affiliate of the National Center for Women in Technology to receive the organization’s Aspirations in Computing Awards.

from LS R-7 Schools

The students are being honored by the Kansas City Center for Women in Technology (KCWIT) on Feb. 9 at the Kauffman Conference Center.

Students named 2018 KCWIT Aspirations in Computing Award winners are Aamna Khan, Summit Technology Academy; Ruby Rios, Summit Technology Academy; Chayenne Sandoval-Williams, Summit Technology Academy; Emiline Stewart, Lee’s Summit West High School; and Lailah Weatherspoon, Lee’s Summit High School.

Students receiving KCWIT Aspirations in Computing Award Honorable Mention are Samantha Kreisel, Summit Technology Academy, and Shelby Soukup, Lee’s Summit North High School.  

Terry Yoast, a teacher at Summit Technology Academy, was named winner of the affiliate’s 2018 KCWIT Aspirations in Computing Educator Award.

The Aspirations in Computing Award honors high-school level young women for their computing-related achievements and interests. Winners are selected based on their aptitude and aspirations in technology and computing, leadership ability, academic history and plans for post-secondary education.