R-7 School District seniors named to Missouri Scholars 100

Six Lee's Summit R-7 School District high school seniors were recently selected for the 2018 Missouri Scholars 100, a statewide program that honors 100 of Missouri's top academic students in the graduating class of 2016.

from LS R-7 Schools

Students will be recognized at a luncheon in Columbia on April 22.

R-7 students selected are Andrew Mitchell and Amy Tippin of Lee’s Summit High School; Anna Bilton and Emily Gerber of Lee’s Summit North High School; and  Margaret O'Connor and Alexander Geoghegan of Lee’s Summit West High School.

Missouri Scholars 100 is sponsored by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals. Schools across Missouri are invited to nominate candidates for this state-wide recognition. The selection is based primarily on a formula using the student's grade-point average (GPA) and ACT or SAT college-preparation score. Each nominated student had to first meet criteria of an "academic decathlon," which included 10 events designed to assure the academic strength of the student. To meet the decathlon requirements, the student must have a minimum GPA of 3.75, a minimum ACT score of 29 or a minimum SAT score of 1,600, be ranked in the upper 10 percent of the class and have taken upper-level courses in mathematics, science, English and foreign language. The student must also have excellent attendance, be an exemplary school citizen and be involved in school activities.