Board of Education names new administrators for 2018-19 at April 12 meeting

The Lee’s Summit R-7 Board of Education approved the employment of several new administrators for the 2018-19 school year. The staff members will begin their new jobs on July 1.

from LS R-7 Schools

They include Dr. Deborah Delsemme, assistant superintendent of human resources; Dawn Smith, assistant superintendent of equity and student services; Wesley Metz, chief financial officer; Dr. Jerrod Fellhauer, Underwood Elementary principal; and Jennifer Kevern, Trailridge Elementary principal.


Dr. Delsemme is the executive director of human resources for the North Kansas City School District. She is replacing Dr. Jeff Miller, associate superintendent for human resources, who is retiring this summer. Dr. Delsemme has served as North Kansas City’s executive director of human resources since 2015 and previously worked as the NKC director of human resources, as a high-school assistant principal, library media specialist and International Baccalaureate Theory of Knowledge instructor. In addition to her experience in North Kansas City, she has served as a library media specialist at Liberty High School, as an instructor at the University of Missouri-Columbia and as a Liberty School District fourth-grade teacher. Dr. Delsemme earned her bachelor’s degree in elementary education from the University of Missouri-Kansas City, her master’s degree in library science from the University of Missouri-Columbia and her doctorate in educational leadership from Saint Louis University.


Ms. Smith currently serves as associate superintendent of student services for the Hickman Mills School District. She will be serving in a new position within the Lee’s Summit R-7 School District. She previously served as Ruskin High School principal; Hickman Mills Freshman Center principal; school improvement specialist for the Metropolitan Regional Educational Service Agency in Georgia; and as a middle-school assistant principal, an instructional coach and elementary teacher, all in Dekalb County School District in Georgia. Ms. Smith earned her bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from Savannah State University in Georgia, her master’s in educational leadership from Clark University in Georgia and her education specialist degree in administration and supervision from Lincoln Memorial University in Tennessee.


Mr. Metz is currently serving as the director of finance and Board of Education treasurer for the St. Joseph School District. He is replacing Kendra Hutsell, R-7 director of accounting who is retiring this summer. He previously worked as director of finance and Board of Education treasurer for the Schuyler School District in Queen City, Mo.; an accounting manager for Keokuk Steel Castings in Iowa; and accountant for U.S. Cable in O’Fallon, Mo. Mr. Metz earned his bachelor’s degree in accounting from Northwest Missouri State University and his master’s in business administration from William Woods University.

apJenniferKevern .JPG

Mrs. Kevern has served as assistant principal at Trailridge Elementary since 2015. She worked as a Lee’s Summit R-7 teacher from 1997-2015. Mrs. Kevern is replacing Jeff Scalfaro, who was recently named principal of Bernard Campbell Middle School. Within the R-7 School District, she served on the Destination 2021 strategic planning team and the Emergency Operations Team and participated in the district’s Leadership Academy. Mrs. Kevern earned her bachelor’s degree in elementary education from Avila University and her master’s degree in school leadership from Baker University. She will earn her education specialist degree from the University of Central Missouri this summer.


Dr. Fellhauer has served as principal at Creekmoor Elementary School in the Raymore-Peculiar School District for seven years. He is replacing Dr. Anna McGraw, who has resigned the position. Dr. Fellhauer previously worked as an elementary principal and assistant principal in the Warrensburg School District and serves as an adjunct professor at William Woods University. He has earned a master’s degree in K-8 education administration, a specialist degree in superintendency and a doctorate of education, all from William Woods University.